Origines des églises d'orient

Églises des régions où l'Œuvre d'Orient intervient

1000 1100 1200 1300 1400 1500 1600 1 7 00 1800 1900 2000 638 Église arménienne grégorienne 555 1461 1441 1742 1099 Patriarcat latin de Jérusalem Église catholique romaine PROTESTANTS CATHOLIQUES 1724 1653 1930 Église syriaque (jacobite) Église d’Antioche Église de l’Orient (dite perse ou nestorienne) 1553 512 1783 Église copte Église éthiopienne 1895 1839 1698 1596 Église orthodoxe d’Urkraine Église orthodoxe roumaine Église maronite (catholique) (union officialisée avec Rome en 1182) Église assyrienne Église chaldéenne catholique Église copte orthodoxe Église éthiopienne orthodoxe Église copte catholique Église éthiopienne catholique Église catholique romaine Église arménienne apostolique d’Étchmiadzine Patriarcat arménien de Jérusalem Église arménienne apostolique de Sis Église arménienne apostolique de Sis catholique Église greco-catholique d’Urkraine Église orthodoxe d’Urkraine Église greco-catholique de Roumanie Église orthodoxe roumaine Patriarcat latin de Jérusalem Église syriaque orthodoxe Église syriaque catholique Église grecque-melkite orthodoxe Église grecque-melkite catholique Église grecque-orthodoxe d’Alexandrie Église syro-malankare orthodoxe (jacobite depuis 1653) Église syro-malankare catholique Église syro-malabare catholique Patriarcat œcuménique de Constantinople Église arménienne de Constantinople Église grecque-orthodoxe de Jérusalem Églises apostoliques CONCILES SCHISMES Église d’Antioche Église de Jérusalem Église arménienne Église d’Alexandrie Église de Constantinople Église de Rome Catholiques Orthodoxes Protestants CONCILE DE NICÉE I CONCILE DE CONSTANTINOPLE I CONCILE D’ÉPHÈSE CONCILE DE CHALCÉDOINE le Fils est consubstantiel au Père Le Saint-Esprit est égal ou consubstantiel au Père et au Fils : un Dieu en trois hypostases ou personnes Jésus-Christ est une seule personne et Marie Mère de Dieu Il y a deux natures Jésus-Christ : humaine et divine (sans confusion ni séparation) 325 381 La nature divine de Jésus- Christ a absorbé sa nature humaine (monophysisme) En Jésus il y a deux personnes (hypostases) 431 451 1 0 5 4 15 1 7 l’Esprit procède du père ORTHODOXES l’Esprit procède du père et du fils CATHOLIQUES

Les Chrétiens en Orient : Une mosaïque d’Églises issues des 5 patriarcats.

Patriarchs, church leaders, bishops, monks and nuns from the Eastern Catholic Churches reunited for the 150th anniversary of l’Œuvre d’Orient

Origin of the Eastern Churches

The Eastern churches are as old as Christianity itself. Indeed, the church was born in the Middle East and it spread out from there to the rest of the Empire. This expansion featured three distinct phases:

The time of the apostles and their immediate successors

The church was born in Jerusalem through the apostles' teachings, and quickly spread to the rest of the Empire: Syria, Arabia, Asia Minor, Greece, and Rome. The faithful were persecuted but the church organised itself into patriarchates that were set by the Council of Chalcedon in 451.

The time of theological disputes and councils

When theological debate led to a contested thesis, a council (assembly of Bishops) was convened to set the articles of faith. A majority then rallied to the decisions, but sometimes minorities challenged them and separated. This led to the establishment of churches that were not in communion with the other churches and Rome. The last great schism dates back to 1054. It is known as the East–West Schism. This is when the Latin churches became known as Catholic and the Greek churches became known as Orthodox.

Rome and the union of churches

Rome and the separated churches always shared a desire to reunite. Sometimes the churches reunited out of religious or even political necessity; sometimes the actions of the faithful also led to the reunification of large numbers of these separated churches with Rome. This is the story behind most Eastern Catholic churches.
"L’Œuvre d’Orient helps 11 Eastern churches united with Rome and the Latin Patriarchate of Jerusalem."